Hello world!

 

This is my first real Blog. I volunteered to write a tribute piece on one of the American citizens who lost their life on September 11th 2001. I hope you will check back with me and read the tribute not because I think I am a writer but because I am an American citizen of these United States and i think it is something I can do for the family of the person who died in the attack.

I hope to be able to introduce you to one of those victims. I wonder if it is a man or a woman? I wonder if it will be a service person like a fireman, a police officer or someone who was just settling in for another day of work. I wonder what this person was like. I remember that day in September of 2001. I remember being numb and mad and sad and very, very angry.

I am still very, very angry.

9 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. brat Says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere!!!!

    So happy you took the leap in your “spare time”…

    WRITE ON!

    • northstar96sc Says:

      Thank you so much- I am honored thatyou have gave popped in ! A Blogging celebrity! WOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
      Thanks my friend
      xoxo

  2. Savingourselves (Renee) Says:

    I look forward to reading your piece. Good luck with the blog. I know it will be good, you always have great things to say.

    • northstar96sc Says:

      Thank you so very much-I hope to get my name in time to research the person propery. Im nervous…..

  3. Jane Says:

    Carol, I wrote a tribute a couple of years ago for an on-line memorial. I was assigned a young man who worked at one of the brokerage firms. He was so well liked, and active in school and college and had his whole life before him. Writing about him so that people would know more about him other than that he died in the towers on 9/11 was one of the most challenging pieces I ever wrote. It was an emotional experience. Good luck…and thank you for doing this.

    • northstar96sc Says:

      Would you consider writting another piece? I read tonight that there are many, many names that have not been assigned only about 400 are spoken for. Did you interview th family? Where did you get the information? I am still waiting for my person’s name-I’m nervously excited!

  4. Jane Says:

    Carol,

    Yes, I would condiser writing another piece. Please give me the contact information for the group you are working with. I did not include a lot of information about the family…only a few quotes from his father. I researched his name on the internet. There was an amazing amount of information about him because he was very active in sports for his college. Another resource (as grim as it sounds) was from the notes people wrote to the family on various memorial websites. It gave me a real feel for the kind of person he was, and the things he was interested in.

  5. brat Says:

    {{{{{{{roomie}}}}}}}}}

    I am ALWAYS nervous before I write any tribute profile. BUT, I remind myself to ask for Help (which I always do before and during the process) and then write from my heart. I also remind myself that it is NOT about me, and that I am but the instrument, the messenger.

    Because of the nature of the heroes I have been priviledged to write about, there is always LOTS of material out there, so is usually the case – for me – of NOT writing a book.:)

    I have absolute faith in you, that you will do a great job in honouring whoever you get..

    xoxox

  6. northstar96sc Says:

    Thank you! I appreciate you

Leave a Reply

